Transfer mayhem as Eircom deadline falls - February 1, 2001

They'll tell you the Eircom League is in cash crisis, with Finn Harps, Derry City and Kilkenny City in trouble and players at Galway United and now Waterford United taking big pay cuts - but that didn't stop yesterday from being one of the busiest transfer days ever as clubs raced to beat the Eircom League deadline.

True, at least one of those moves was inspired by just such a financial crisis: Galway United decided they couldn't afford striker Stephen Grant's wages for the rest of his loan spell from Boston Bulldogs and champions Shelbourne have picked up the tab.

That could spell the end at Tolka Park for one-time fans favourite Tony Sheridan who has failed to impress since his return from Cardiff City.

Paul Byrne, whose St. Pat's contract was cancelled yesterday by mutual consent, re-signed for Bohemians.

Kilkenny City's 'League of Nations' team became even more cosmopolitan with the signing of Bryan Jackson - from California via the Netherlands! Former Halifax player Stephen Murphy made his loan move from Glenavon to Buckley Park permanent, as did Swindon Town's Paul McAreavey.

Longford Town and Finn Harps also boosted their foreign legions. Town signed Alex Hirnchuk, a goalkeeper from Belarus now living in Granard; and Harps picked up former Wigan player Neil Lloyd from Ashton and James Marron from Leek Town.

Stephen Grant (Galway United to Shelbourne)
Paul McAreavey (Swindon Town to Kilkenny City)
Stephen Murphy (Glenavon to Kilkenny City)
Bryan Jackson (FC Norad to Kilkenny City)
Sean Riordan (Kilkenny City to Longford Town)
Alex Hirnchuk (Belarus to Longford Town)
Colm Daly (Ipswich Town to Shamrock Rovers)
Dominic Sheppard (Southwick to Derry City)
Paul Clarke (Airdrie to Derry City)
Neil Lloyd (Marine to Finn Harps)
James Marrrow (Leek Town to Finn Harps)
Alan Dodd (Bray to Finn Harps)
Jody Byrne (unattached to St. Pat's)
Anthony Shevlin (Nottm Forest to St. Pat's)
Colm Murphy (Drogheda to St. Pat's)
Gavin Dykes (unattached to Newry Town)
Brendan Markey (Bohemians to Newry Town)
Davy Williamson (Bohemians to Bray)
Jimmy Fyffe (Limerick to Bray)
Paul Byrne (St. Pat's to Bohemians)
Steve Gaughan (Cork City to Halifax {returning after long-term loan})

First Division
Ben Kelly (unattached to Home Farm)
Donica Ehendie (Moldova to St. Francis)
Brian Morrisroe (released by Dundalk)

back to eircom league stories

back to main headlines